Monday, September 16, 2013

First 787-9 start taxi tests in preparation for 1st flight

Boeing Photo

Boeing conducted taxi tests with ZB001 (LN 126, N789EX) in preparation for its first flight which is expected tomorrow.

The taxi test were carried out on very rainy conditions and weather will play a role in the decision to carry out the test tomorrow or not.  Taxi tests are the last set of tests prior tofirst flight of the aircraft.  It is expected that ZB001 will land at Boeing Field where Boeing Test Flight team is based.  The test and certifiation program is expected to last 6 to 9 months.

Currently the weather at Everett for tomorrow calls for a 20% chance of rain but low ceiling may postpone the test flight.  Boeing requires at least a 1500 foot ceiling for any first flight including B-1 flights of in production models.  I'll be keeping tabs on the first flight which I suspect will take place, weather permitting, at about 10AM PT (1PM ET).


Full 787 List

Current 787 Production List

Delivered 787 List

787 Monthly Delivery Tracking

787 Customer Delivery

 









3 comments:

Pete Templin said...

Airchive is predicting the first flight on Thursday: http://airchive.com/blog/2013/09/16/photos-boeing-787-9-begins-taxi-testing-first-flight-imminent/

Randy Austin said...

From the Boeing website:

Join us for the live webcast of the 787-9 Dreamliner First Flight.
September 17, 2013. Starting approximately 9:40 AM PST/4:40 PM GMT.

Andrew Boydston said...

787-9 Third flight at this time.
Flightaware link.


http://flightaware.com/live/flight/BOE1/history/20130920/1830Z/KBFI/KMWH